This lovely one-story Queen Ann style Victorian was built in 1906. From an inscription found on the basement wall, indications are the Brown family was one of its first inhabitants.
The Lyons-McNeill Apartments are located on land that was part of a (307-acre) land grant in 1821 from President James Monroe to five north Alabama citizens. Some of the family names of these citizens were Garth, Rhodes, Peck and others.
This home was originally built in 1910 as a Victorian style one-story house using “balloon” framing techniques. The home has a truncated hip room pent at the porch and the front entry features pilasters which flank the front door.
The Tillery family built this historic home in the Greek-Revival style in the early 1870’s as a two-story, single-family home of about 2,000 square feet. More than 70 years later, the Harris family converted the home into the Le Venne Terrace Apartments.
Prevalent in the United States in the early 1900’s through the 1950’s, the Williams-McKay House on Jackson Street is an excellent example of the Colonial Revival style. Based on the English and Dutch colonial styles popular in the early colonies on the Eastern seaboard, there were many variations on the shape of Colonial Revival homes.
634 Grant Street was originally part of a land grant from the U.S. Government to the State of Alabama in 1828. In 1887, it became part of the incorporation of the Decatur Land Improvement and Furnace Co., Inc. The home was built around 1909 as a two-story residence.
Decatur’s First United
Methodist Church was officially organized in 1834.
Serving as Tour headquarters this year, St. John's Episcopal Church is one of the most beautiful structures in Historic Decatur. After a fire burned St. Paul's Episcopal Church, originally organized in 1867, to the ground in 1888, its parishioners differed over where to rebuild, in Old Decatur or in New Decatur (now Albany).
The Old State Bank remains at its original site from when it first opened in 1833. The two story structure sports Federal Empire period architecture which was popular in the 1830s.
The Carnegie Visual Arts Center, originally constructed in 1904 as The Carnegie Library with funding from the Carnegie Foundation. It is one of the few remaining original Carnegie Library buildings in the nation.